top of page
  • Writer's pictureeasypeasylifeblog

Planner Break Down

Updated: Dec 1, 2018

This will be my third year in a row completing a full planner. I do have an excuse of going to school, however, I think everyone needs a planner. I use my planner for pretty much everything, school, work schedule, to-do list, goals, and more. There are a few suggestions that I have to make your planner last the entire year.


Choosing a planner..

When choosing a planner that is right for you, think of the amenities that you want. I usually throw my planner in the back seat, therefore, I need one with a hard cover. I also like my planner to have a monthly spread as well as daily entry spot. In 2018, my planner had a spot for notes on the side of the monthly spread, in addition to a weekly to do, and note section on the daily spread. Also, I always choose a planner with all white pages, therefore, I can write wherever I need.

Here are a few things that you could think about when choosing a planner:

What size fits your lifestyle?

Hard cover or soft?

Does it need a tie to keep it close?

Does it need a pocket?

Do you need a "notes" section in the back?

How do you want the monthly spread to look?

What about the daily section?

Do you want easy access tabs?


Below is a few pictures of my planner from this year and a few from my planner for 2019! Both have distinct layouts that would work for different people. Take a close look at the daily spread to see what would work best for you. I think I may end up missing the weekly to do and notes section from my previous planner.


Getting started..

If you are in school, I suggest you get a few pens with different colors for the number of classes you are taking. I color code the subjects so I do not get confused with what assignments need to be completed for what class, and I can write less in the small boxes. I also use a highlighter to broadcast very important things like exams. Since homework takes a large portion of the monthly spread boxes, I write a small star in the corner of the box for doctor appointments . The stars are then referenced to the side or above the calendar where I can write the full details of the event that was marked. I use the daily spreads to jot down my daily to do list. When it is the first week of school, I write all of my class requirements like discussion question's word requirements, professor emails, and office hours at the back of my planner in the notes section. My first planner I wrote my assignments on the monthly and weekly spread, and then found that I never looked at the daily section for reference. Making your planner look pretty is fun, but make sure that it is practical enough for you to use it each day.


Not a student not a problem..

If you are not in school you have a lot of freedom with your planner. When I was not in school I would use the monthly spread for things like birthdays, commitments, doctors appointments, etc. I would use the daily spread to jot down my daily to do list, and to elaborate on the plans I had written on the monthly spread. When I was not in school I did not have a lot of things going on. I had more room in my planner to write down recipes, crafts I wanted to try, or even draw a few doodles. Having more freedom with your planner is a very exciting thing. You could use your planner as a baby book for your newborn, keep track of exercises that you participate in, or even your future bucket list. Keep your options open, and try and use your planner every day!


Ending advice..

I spoke with a few of my friends to see what they thought about their own planners. My aunt has been using a planner since 1972. She finds that having a planner that can fit into her purse is the right choice for her. She wants to be able to use her planner while at home, at the store, etc. When I was a little girl my aunt also had a Palm Pilot. Using an online planner or paper planner is better than none.

Spending a lot for a planner doesn't mean success, writing in the planner and then looking at it daily are what make it a valuable tool.

When you have written down too many things to accomplish in one day, try prioritizing the tasks to the highest level of priority. When I finish a project I write a line through the task. In comparison, when my aunt finishes everything on that day she crosses off the entire day.


Conclusion..

Having a planner should be fun and rewarding. Crossing off the tasks that seemed very overwhelming at first, is the best feeling. A very wise person once told me, "If I don't get everything done on the day it was written on, the first thing I do is forgive myself." Writing in your planner and being consistent should not be stressful. Find what works for you and stick with it!



Make sure to follow EASY PEASY LIFE BLOG on Instagram and Facebook!
bottom of page