top of page
  • Writer's pictureeasypeasylifeblog

The Easiest Way To Transfer A Picture Onto Wood

I was searching through YouTube to find the instructions for how to transfer a picture onto a wood plank. I was stuck watching hours of videos, and at the end still did not find adequate instructions. After a few times of trial and error, I have the perfect tutorial for you!

This craft made a wonderful gift for my future mother-in-law. I went to my local craft store to buy the wood piece that I wanted to use. I found a coupon on their website before I went, and bought the slab for $4. Making this craft cheap and easy.


Supplies needed..

  • Wood plank

  • Mod Podge

  • Sponge or brush

  • Picture

  • Washcloth

  • Plastic card

Getting started..

First know that the picture is printed onto a regular piece of printer paper. The printer should be a standard at home type printer, also known as an ink jet.

It is as easy as..

  1. Print out the photo of your choice

  2. Trim around the edges to fit the wood

  3. Lather Mod Podge onto the photo

  4. Place the photo Mod Podge side down onto the piece of wood

  5. Use a plastic card to smooth out any air bubbles

Let sit for at least 12 hours!

The best part..

  1. Wet a washcloth and lay onto the photo for two minutes

  2. Make sure the photo is completely damp

  3. Lightly rub the paper off of the wood piece with the washcloth

  4. Let dry for one hour

  5. Repeat step 3, however, rub a bit lighter than before

Once I let my piece dry, I sprayed it with a sealer. I found that after an hour of sitting there was still a few pieces of paper that I did not get off of the wood. Try wetting the washcloth and soaking the piece for a few minutes. If you make the ink too wet and try and rub excess paper off, the ink will smear a bit.


Below is a short video reference..



Send me an email about any tips, questions, or concerns. Also, I would love to see the projects that are completed.

Follow Easy Peasy Life Blog on Facebook and Instagram!


bottom of page